Skip to content

“I don’t do well with goodbyes.”

20 February 2013

Store date: 31 January 2008

Here is an abbreviated version of an e-mail I received a month after the official closing day of Laser’s Edge, from a local classical musician of immense talent, whose artistic career I had watched progress full-circle from his nervous secondary school days through to his job teaching music performance to area youngsters. He is still at it.

Hey Fred,
 
I just wanted to take a second to say thank you for the many years you put into serving the community of musicians and music lovers around Birmingham.  I hated that I wasn’t able to come in more during the final days of the store, but honestly, I just couldn’t handle it.  I don’t do well with goodbyes.  Even when I have had people close to me die, I have typically not been able to bring myself to spend a lot of time with them during those final days, and while it may seem overly dramatic, the feelings I felt the last time I was in the store were much akin to those I have experienced in those other situations.
 
I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your friendship and your support of my career over the years, and as I look around me at the uncountable number of CDs, I’ve appreciated your knowledge as well.
 
Fred, you built a gem in Homewood, and it will be sorely missed.  However, I wish you all the best as you have the actually enviable task of deciding which path you want to follow next.
 
Please keep in touch!  Obviously, I won’t be able to pop in for my “Fred fix” every now and then, but I hope you’ll grant it to me through an occasional lunch or coffee.  My numbers–cell is xxx-xxx-xxxx, and home is xxx-xxxx.  Would love to hear from you!
 
All the best, and again, thank you for all you did both for me and for the community.
 
Cheers,
K.
From → customers

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

